Final theory evaluation

Hello gaise!

For those who are taking theory lessons from school, you will need to take up the final theory test evaluation 1 month before you can sit for the actual FTT.

And today is the day where I decided to attempt the 11 sets of practice questions before I clear the evaluation.

Before I start, I was previously told that most people would take 4 practice sessions to clear the 11 sets of practice questions. And it is also highly recommended to do them before the evaluation.

Heeding the advice of those who’ve been there, I booked 4 back-to-back practice lessons and had my evaluation followed soon after. Well, thankfully, I happened to stumble across sgdriving website and did their 420 questions for preparation. During the preparation, I realized I was clearing 50 questions in about 6-8 minutes. Thinking that I would be able to clear 11 sets within 3 practice sessions, I canceled one of the session! (Thankfully, they refunded me hahaha).

Anyway, I headed over and did the 11 sets of practice.

4 sets twice in the 1st session.

4 sets twice in the 2nd session.

Final 3 sets twice and random 7 sets once in the 3rd session.

Here’s my advice to those who wants to follow the same path as I am. If you can clear 50 questions within 6-8 minutes, go ahead and book 3! I think 3 is just nice to go through the important contents twice and also give you some extra preparation!

However, if you’re like me whose eyes felt strained after the 2nd session. I think you should space out the slots. (Hahaha, I guess that’s like my first sign of aging).

Speaking of which (here’s a completely unrelated rant about driving):

There’s this one time I’m at giant buying hair spray.

Me: you guys don’t have any other brand of hair spray ah?
Salesgirl: don’t have ley. Like no more code already
Me: huh
Salesgirl: goes on explaining what’s happening.
Salesgirl: you faster grow up la. next time you be a giant buyer then won’t have such things already, then you’ll open up all the slots etc…
Me: yah. Okay.
Salesgirl: how old are you ah? 20 ah? No ley, you look like 10+
Me: yes, I’m 18
Salesgirl: ya lorh. Faster grow up and be like jie jie like that 😂

Hahaha, so much for experiencing symptoms of aging when I still look so young 😦 (for those who don’t get it, I’m turning 23 already)

Back to topic, evaluation after that ended up relatively easy and I managed to get 49/50 and clear my evaluation!!

I think now it’s time to prepare for the actual FTT in about a month’s time!

For those who want tips on what to focus on, you’re welcome.

  • Uses of brakes, clutch, and accelerator
  • Moving up and down slopes
  • Parking on slopes
  • Gear, Gearbox, and their relation to the engine
  • Bends on roads
  • Reversing
  • Junctions and roundabouts
  • Hazardous conditions
  • Vehicles allowed on the road
  • How to drive when there are long vehicles/motorcyclist/bicyclist
  • From BTT: 2-second rule, giving way, basic lane rules, slowing down, alcohol

Those in pink are the ones that appear more frequently than the rest. If you’re familiar to these, I am sure you’ll do fine!

And oh, the 420 questions from sgdriving doesn’t seem to really help a lot! But I guess that’s still good practice!

So, for those who are taking from school, these practice sessions are definitely very useful and I would encourage you to take them! Those who are taking private, fret not! Try to look for online resources/use the 600 FTT question book on sale in bookstores to aid you!

All the best :)!

Leave a comment