Diary entries of Thomas’s Death

Disclaimer: The events depicted in the following story are fictitious. Any similarity to any person living or dead is merely coincidental.

 

4th January 2015

19th of February is the day where my wrath takes on its full form, draining the life of our first victim, Thomas Wellston.  Thomas has been a nasty person back in the same military camp that we trained. I have never been able to see eye-to-eye with his ridiculous judgement on certain matters. Coupled with the fact that his arrogance is putting almost everyone down, my beliefs is that trashes like him should not be bounded to walk on Earth again, much more breathe in the same air we do.

Planning for this death, and doing it with impunity is not easy. Thankfully, I managed to recruit two the best people to my team of horrors. How I met them is totally none of your business, to those who stumble across this journal, let me give you a piece of my advice. These entries are doors to the insider’s mind, the mind of a serial killer as well as the intricacies of the planning. You don’t really go around bookstores reading books from a cold-blooded perspective.

Ryan is my right wing man, he pays attention to the extreme details and nothing will ever escape his vision without being caught. Cassandra, my left wing man (or woman, literally), is one of the most resourceful, and the most quick-witted person I have ever seen. Together, with my amazing planning abilities, the three of us definitely made a good team.

Right now, as I am working through the plans, Ryan had scanned the spot of Thomas’s death and those buildings within a 50-meter radius for security cameras. I have attached the blueprints of what Ryan has drafted out here. Meanwhile, Cassandra is gathering intelligence on Thomas’s habits and character – this enabled us to predict, with far higher accuracy, the locations and the routes he will be taking prior his death.

Blueprint.png

In case I ever forget, the blueprint has printed the number of security cameras in each building. I shall eliminate the more detailed information including its location, the direction, and angle of capture, as well as the other technical stuff to prevent cross information sharing, should anyone of you readers aspire to be like one. But my advice is, make sure you have all the relevant information to carry yourself. To better orientate you, the circle in the middle is the spot of Thomas’s final breath. Rectangular boxes represent the buildings in the neighbourhood cluster, while the blue hexagons are representative of playgrounds and fitness corner. Now that I have got the map of the area, I will match it together with my plan and spot for loopholes. The execution would be done in at the block beside the playground, where Ryan scouted an abandoned apartment during his initial scan.

 

6th January 2015

Everything is going well.

We have figured out a path to take without revealing much of our identities to the pesky little security cameras. Cassandra, being the most resourceful one, managed to box a whole lot of tools we needed for our operation. How did she, a little girl, managed it all by herself? The role of her background definitely is involved, in some way or the other. The rest? Is all down to her wits. Sometimes I admire Cassandra, for being the sweet little girl with a passion for intelligence and thrill. When you mix these both desires together in a blender topped with ice and cherry, the bloody looking champagne will be named Murder’s Paradise.

Ops plan.png

Anyway, the plan is simple. On the evening of 18th February, I will be heading towards the building right by the side of the playground, with 6 cameras, together with the Lim’s family, who will be heading back home between 6pm to 6:35pm. I will not conceal my identity while I headed up into the lift with them. Cassandra will be going to the block further upwards via the orange route together with Tan’s family around 5pm where the Hospice shuttle bus would drop the ambulatory Mdm. Tan right at the fitness corner. As for Ryan, he would be tagged along to Mr. Wellston, who by 7pm, would finish his daily jog in the park and head back home via the purple route. Ryan should pay a closer attention to being in front of Mr. Wellston at all times rather than the rear to prevent security suspicions.

To execute a kill, we will definitely need a weapon. As a trained personnel in the X1022B-3, a sniping weapon, as well as being someone who is able to have access to the armoury, I was able to temporarily borrow the weapon out without being spotted or triggering an alarm bells.

Getting the ammunition proved to be one of the challenging ones because regulations surrounding ammunitions have tightened to the point that every single ammunition drawn out must be accounted for. Also, each ammunition has a serial number carved into it, trying to smudge the number away is one method of concealing your own identity.

 

 

10th January 2015

This killing seemed to be destined. We had a live firing training a few hours prior dismissal for the weekend and I managed to sneak out 4 live ammunitions without being caught. As the group leader in charge of the ammunition point, I was given free access to all the rounds I needed. Siphoning the rounds was a quick and easy process, however, the accounting of rounds by the ammunition centre became an issue. Knowing how the process of collecting rounds work, I decided to risk myself from getting caught and in a clandestine effort with Ryan, who was there with me, I had to swiftly make minor adjustments to the machine. Previously an engineer, such twerks to the machine’s functioning mechanism stood as no daunting task for me. Soon after, the rigged machine displayed an ‘OK’ word with diodes emitting green light, rejoicing that all the ammunitions issued has been back. We then proceeded back to our military base.

 

 

13th January 2015

The days of our operation is inching closer and closer, and our plans has to be refined. Ryan is looking through the minor details of the plan while Cassandra is sorting out our disguises. One of the main issue now was to formulate a plan to bring the X1022B-3 out together with the sound muffler, so that we do not create a zone of attention gravitating towards us as well as delaying the process of being identified.

 

 

15th January 2015

Disaster strikes again when I tried to melt the metal piece off its embedded numerals. My miscalculations sent one round flying into the bucket of water. Fortunately for me, I had a premonition that this would occur and set up a bullet catcher. Some might ask, why the bucket of water? If you have not noticed yet, water is indeed powerful in reducing the speed of objects moving at high velocity. Should the flames ignited the at bass cap lit off the gunpowder inside, the shrapnel would project off into the wildness, killing whatever it has pierce through and get stuck in. Instead of aiming the round towards a hard object where the marks could be traced and identified, I took it to the waters. One round wasted, three more to go. I had to figure out a way to melt the external of the bullet casing without sending the gunpowder into chaos. With that, I decided to slice open the large calibre round to study its innards. I was so thankful I did, because knowing the storage location for the gunpowder enable me to submerge it in ice cold water to dissipate any heat from hitting the powder. At the same time, igniting the rear end with the flames would allow the metal to disfigure the numbers. I succeeded, with an extra round to spare.

 

 

20th January 2015

To protect the security of the military camp I worked in, as well as any security related threats to the society, I have omitted details on how I bypassed the security systems and personnel to retrieve the armoury keys, duplicated them, and returned them to back where they belong – the safety vault.

 

 

16th February 2015

Ryan, our main scout, chaired the reconnaissance of the area to ensure that we did not miss out on any crucial details added in after the initial scouting last month. Apparently, one of the security cameras malfunctioned. That was the only change and no readjustment of plans were needed. Also, we convened an agreement to touch up Ryan’s car, including his car plate number, in his backyard, to conceal distinguishable features people could use to identify the car.

 

 

19th February 2015

Yesterday was the day of the killing. Thomas is now dead and police investigations are ongoing. Currently, all armouries in the countries have been stifled and investigations by the security detectives of the Military department has commence. The killing yesterday was pretty intense, and chilling to the bone with changes demanding rapid responses. You see, that was my first execution of a plan, and plans being plans, do not always work as figured out.

By 5pm on the 18th, Cassandra was wheeling Mdm. Tan back home because she realized that Mdm. Tan’s husband was away from home. Seeing Mdm. Tan waiting at the fitness corner for 15 minutes, Cassandra decided to act on her own, waddling her way towards Mdm. Tan. 15 minutes was a considerably long time given that in the past few months of observation, and Mr. Tan would never be late. Not even a single occasion was he late at all.  Curious, Cassandra spoke to Mdm. Tan only to discover that her husband had to fly back to their hometown to identify if their child was affected by the Earthquake in Winterville.

Saddened by Mdm. Tan’s plight, Cassandra took it on her own responsibility to send Mdm. Tan back home. By 5:30pm on her watch, Mdm. Tan was safe back home and offered Cassandra to stay with her. Being the quick-witted girl she is, she stayed on until Thomas had been killed. This was an opportunity for her to take cover from being identified as a potential sidekick of the team. She headed to the bathroom and dropped me and Ryan a message, stating her circumstances. By the time her message reached me, I spotted the Lim’s family walking back.

I fished out my phone from the pocket and carried out a pretentious histrionical act that my best friend, who I was conversing on the other end of the line, was complaining about her woes. Lim’s family’s facial expression conveyed that they were taken aback by my agitated conversation – a mismatch of my usual cheerful personality. When I ended my phone conversation in fury, Mr. Lim approached and I spew out a story of how irresponsible my friend was when she decided to take matters into her own hand. Subconsciously, as I churn out the story to their fascination, I directed them to their building and entered the lift. We proceeded to their storey before unravelling my failed attempted to notice that I was in the wrong building. The Lim’s family laughed and I entered the lift and jammed the button to the first floor. Thankfully, this set of lift do not have cameras within, so I snuck out before the lift door closes and sprint my way up to the 8th storey where I had clearer view of Thomas’s grave from across the street.

I hurried to the balcony of the empty abandoned apartment, an open portal into the building, wore my disguise, assembled my weapon and took aim. Minutes later, a message from Ryan popped up, saying that a change of plan was needed and he had parked his car in the vacant lot beside the playground. The three of us had to converse through the phone to adjust the plan. Based on what Ryan’s prognostication, leaving immediately upon Thomas’s death could raise alarm bells should the security footage be viewed by the investigators. Ryan suggested for me to stay for a few hours before leaving the scene. I agreed to his point of view, but the wait was not going to happen. I am too inpatient for that.

7 minutes 50 seconds more before Cassandra’s pattern recognition and analytical forecast was put to the test. That was the time remaining before Thomas could be seen in the vicinity as predicted by Cassandra. A minute before the countdown ends, Thomas was strolling towards Cassandra’s building from where Mr. Thomson was last seen with Ryan. Even though Thomas missed Cassandra’s prediction by a mere 2 seconds, Thomas was shot right in the middle of the roundabout road. The silencer worked perfectly and I quickly disseminated the weapon into parts. The shot was quick and unnoticed.

Instead of heeding Ryan’s advice, I waited outside the abandoned apartment, tracing any transactions from the building down to the ground floor. Attempting my luck to make an expedite escape is a hundred and one percent better than being housed in an abandoned building with higher risk of getting caught. Within 2 minutes, I hopped on to the elevator with the Samson’s family. The Samson’s family is a bunch of people I enjoyed my company with. Regardless if you are a stranger or not, they would welcome you with open arms. Their friendliness and openness warms the interior of my dead soul up. Nonetheless, despite being in disguise and all, the Samson’s family invited me to their dinner. I had to politely reject, in another natural tone to conceal my original voice, fabricating a blind date with a girl I met on Tinder. They wished me luck and headed down south from Thomson’s bloodshed. Once the Samson’s family was out of sight, I increased the speed of my pace to the car where Ryan parked, avoiding potential areas of spy cameras. Ryan jumped in shocked when I knocked on the car door.

On our way back to the armoury, he screamed at me, demanding to know why I did not stay on further. After a short period of conflict, silence ensued and things went back to normal. As the wheels of the car sped through the rough asphalt road, I regurgitate my edits and kept both him and Cassandra in the loop. Shortly after, Cassandra left Mdm. Tan’s place after dinner and walked towards Thomson’s location. Seeing how a crowd of people had circumferenced Thomas dead body, Cassandra ran quickly and pull Thomas body to an upright position. She screamed and wailed in pain, tossing Thomas’s body into another position before picking him up and shake him violently. Passer-by held Cassandra back and one of them hugged her for comfort. Police dropped by 30 minutes later, and Cassandra was interviewed by the police.

“Thank you for the interview Cassandra. Don’t worry about Thomas, we will do the best to we can do help solve the mystery”. With that, the Lieutenant Sylvie left Cassandra alone with a blanket.

Meanwhile, Ryan dropped me in the military’s camp carpark a hundred metres away from the armoury. Taking up the keys I duplicated, I secretly unlocked the armour from which the weapon was drawn from. Within a minute, the armoury was locked and I found myself back in Ryan’s car. We decided to head back to bunk to sleep until the next day before establishing contact with Cassandra.

On the 19th, Ryan and I left camp in the morning, together with a bunch of other military personnel who were also make their departures. Once we reached Cassandra’s apartment, we headed down to Ryan’s backyard where we quickly demolished the car’s fake features and washed the coating off, reverting Ryan’s car to its original state while leaving as little stains behind for investigations.

Currently, as we are sitting in Ryan’s soft pink leather couch watching news about Thomas’s death, we swore in secrecy never to let any of these out.

 

22th February 2015

The workings of the investigation behind the military bases will be kept safe with me. What is important to note is that, no missing weapons have been detected at any armoury thus far and no breach of security has been found either. Investigations will soon close at their end.

Police investigations on the case interviewed members of Thomson’s family as well as those residing at the comforts of their own homes during the incident. According to what Lieutenant Sylvie told Cassandra, Cassandra should have never shifted the body because the direction of the bullet as well as the pattern in which Thomas fell would give rise to the position of the killer. Cassandra apologized profusely and Lieutenant Sylvie accidentally revealed a more frustrating piece of news – that none of the passer-by who stood around Thomas could give them the exact manner in which Thomas’s lifeless body fell.

 

30th February 2015

The mystery of Thomas still reminds unsolved as police are unable to find clues pertaining to the killer’s location, weapon, or ammunition. The piece of shrapnel embedded into Thomas’s heart suggests that the ammunition could indeed come from our country’s ammunition centre. Investigation has been done concurrently, but records were clean. More surprisingly, one of the astute detectives discovered the abandoned apartment which I took as sanctuary for the kill. The area has been cordoned off but no news whatsoever has been released to the public yet. While investigations are ongoing, the three of us are currently hatching a larger plan.