Putting a tick off my bucket list: Martial Arts

Good day guys!

In due consideration that self-defense is an extremely important skill, especially when you have a small stature, I have decided to give Martial Arts a try. I understand that martial art is an umbrella term for various fighting style and techniques, however, as I was scrolling through Google’s list, I stumbled upon this phase.

jj.JPG

The words “smaller people can use… defending themselves against larger opponents” attracted all my attention to it. That was the point in time, I decided to learn JiuJitsu among the other martial arts.

As I ventured deeper in search of a school, I discovered EVOLVE.

mma.JPG

In my excited state, the fingers on my hand coordinated the actions to submit my name for the free trial and before you know it, the guy from EVOLVE contacted me. Within an hour or so, we liaised and decided that today was the day I give the school a shot.

I arrived slightly earlier and had my particulars written on the application form. Shortly afterwards, they loaned me a set of GI, or training robes, for the Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) trial lesson later. I sat in the corner while waiting for the previous class to finish up their lesson.

Subsequently, when the clock struck 5:50pm, the previous group was dismissed and being the new bird in the class, I replicated what I see in others into my actions. Basically, I mirrored them throughout without knowing what was going on.

We had approximately 10-15 minutes of warm up consisting of jogs and various movement exercises. By the end of the 1st set, I was sweating profusely already. Warm up continued for another set before the instructor, one of the world class champion for BJJ, started his lessons proper.

He thought us the first technique before breaking us up into pairs or groups of three to practice. After a few tries, he taught us another technique. Once we had plenty of opportunities to try out the techniques, it was time for the sparring.

With no martial art background, I was quite thankful that the new kid who dropped by today partnered me. He may be small in size, but he is strong. Anyway, so we started sparring and throughout the attacks he threw and the defenses which blocked his attempts, I learnt that he took up BJJ for 4 years already. In addition, that opportunity to spar with him gave me the basic understanding of how BJJ works.

Awhile later, the instructor told us to swap buddies and I paired up with another person from the team of three I was in earlier. He was a grown man, definitely in his late 20s or early 30s and his strength was almost threefold of the kid. I got trashed badly by him until he taught me the essences of locking. Locking meant that I had to hold him in a certain position which restricts any movement, and he kept encouraging me throughout the spar. When it was my turn to defend, he taught me techniques to escape his locks and we kept trying.

Honestly, the entire hour of training was fun and engaging!

Once the lesson concluded, we had to bid each other goodbye and thank them for the lesson. That was a culture I did not expect and I almost head to the showers when he said dismissed. Thankfully, I was astute enough to spot that! Otherwise, I might drown myself in foolish embarrassment.

Following which I headed to the cubicles for shower. They have amazing facilities there and provided soap and towels for us to refresh ourselves! Definitely a plus point to introduce people there.

However, when I was seated down with another personnel managing EVOLVE, I learnt that this whole training requires a month worth of commitment. Meaning to say, I will have to pay the close to $300 monthly fees for 12 months for unlimited access regardless if I am there for the lesson or not. I remembered him asking me: “If there is something that I could make you sign straight away, what would it be?”

That question stayed with me throughout and I told him I wasn’t sure. He was thrown off by my answer because many believed the cost was a deterrence.

To be fair, the cost played a certain role. However, there was something I just could not figure out until I realized the 1 year commitment was the cause of my hesitation! Before school starts, I am definitely able to drop by as many times and make full use of the $300 I am paying. But once school starts, I am afraid of being bogged down with work and other commitments that my $300 goes to eventual waste. Oh well.

I told the guy to give me some time to think and have to get back to him this Friday. Concurrently, I am waiting for the replies of FIGHTG and IMPACT to find out more about their schools and lessons (fees are definitely cheaper and I can commit for a month, or 3 instead of one year). I guess chances are, I will reject EVOLVE.

But if I were to recommend for those who are able to commit, why not give EVOLVE a try?

Edit: P/S: I noticed a lot of schools did not list their prices on their websites. So if you guys are curious, you can google them! I am sure some websites like Reddit or forums have them listed! But still, it is best to check with the schools!